As a Voluntary Aided School our Governors are responsible for the creation and administration of the School's policy on admissions and for the maintenance and upkeep of the School's buildings, in addition to those matters set out by the 1986 and 1988 Education acts, e.g. curriculum, charging policy for educational activities, budget, access to information, employment of staff, standards of discipline, and sex education policy.

School policies can be accessed via the school website. All queries should be referred to the Clerk to the Governors, Mrs S Josham, by This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by phone 0117 377 2100 (ext 233).

Governors' Management System
The Full Governing Body meets four times a year. The majority of the Governors' work is done through committees as shown below, which meet either three or four times each year. Disciplinary panels are convened as necessary.

Governors Management System

The Coordinating Committee comprises the Chair of Governors, chairs of each of the Governors’ committees (including the independent Foundation committee), the Headteacher and Deputy Heads together with other School Leadership Team (SLT) members whose presence may be required. This Committee coordinates the work of the other committees and the Full Governing Body.

Members of the Governing Body
This represents the Reconstituted Governing Body (from 27 September 2018).

Governor Type   Term of Office ends   Appointed by
Mrs Claire Alsop *   to 31.08.22   PCC
Mrs Karen Brown    to 13.11.22   DBE
Mr Andrew Burton (Chair)   to 21.02.20   DBE
Mrs Christina Cunningham   to 22.10.22   DBE
Mr Peter Farr (Vice-Chair)   to 29.07.20   PCC
Mrs Denise Nixon *   to 14.05.21   DBE
Mr Paul Sylvester   to 31.08.22   PCC
Rev Daniel Tyndall   Appointed 20.05.13   Ex-Officio
Mrs Anne Vickers   to 04.10.19   DBE
Mr Martin Walker   to 19.07.19   DBE
Mrs Greca Warr *   to 21.10.19   Temple Trustees
Staff Governors        
Mrs Elisabeth Gilpin   Appointed 01.09.05   Ex-Officio
Mr Leigh Sims   to 06.12.19    
Parent Governors        
Mrs Kim Cussans   to 13.12.19    
Dr Rebecca John   to 10.11.20    
Mrs Hazel Nendick   to 15.11.22    
Local Authority Governor        
Co-Opted Governors        
Mrs Liz Thackeray   to 12.04.23    
Associate Member        
Mrs Cath Roberts        
Clerk to the Governors        
Mrs Sue Josham        


* Also parents/carers of current students


Committee Structure

Details of the various Governing Body committees and their membership can be found in the attachment below. 


Attendance at Governors Meetings for the current academic year is available in the attachment below. This will be updated periodically during the year. A blank entry (in grey) indicates that the person is not a member of that committee.


Register of Interests
All Governors have been asked to declare any relevant interests. A summary of relevant business and pecuniary interests where held appears below. All other governors have no relevant interests declared. 


Name    Connection/Interest    Name of Organisation/
  Address    Nature of Organisation   Governance of Other Settings
Mrs Claire Alsop   Freelance musician           Peripatetic teacher    
Mrs Liz Thackeray   Occasional supply teaching at SMRT           Supply teaching   The Hope (virtual School for Children in Care)
Rev Daniel Tyndall   Vicar of St Mary Redcliffe Church           Responsible for securing SMR PCC Foundation Governors   St Mary Redcliffe Primary School
Mrs Anne Vickers                   Horton CofE Primary School
Mr Martin Walker   Friends with Mrs Gilpin                
Mrs Greca Warr *                   Temple Ecclesiastical Charity, South Bristol Deanery Synod, St Mary Redcliffe PCC Trustee


No relevant interests declared: Karen Brown, Andrew Burton, Kim Cussans, Pete Farr, Elisabeth Gilpin, Rebecca John, Hazel Nendick, Denise Nixon, Cath Roberts, Leigh Sims, Paul Sylvester. 


Whole footer strip 2015